Adrian Burke Interview

Adrian Burke

22nd November 2012

Via Email

London Still life photographer

How did you learn your photography practice?

–       If educated where? How did it help create your style? How did it prepare you for the ‘real’ world of being a photographer?

–       If self-taught, how? Was it hard to find your area of skill?

 I did a part time City and Guilds course one day a week while working as a trainee Medical photographer. I then did 3 years full time at Salisbury College to get a higher diploma PQE in Photography. I then assisted for 6 years, the last 3 with a very good Still Life photographer from whom I learnt a great deal. This gave me the skills needed to enter as you say the real world.

How do you keep yourself motivated?

Motivation has to come from within; if you really want to be a photographer you will be motivated. Having said that it’s not always easy and harder the older you get. I always try to make myself do tests, If you do something you like it’s very uplifting.

Who or what inspires you in your work?

Irving Penn was always an inspiration, also the photographer I worked for Jerry Oke (sadly passed away) and the man he had worked for, Graham Ford

Do you have a favorite job that sticks out in your mind? Why that job?

Favorite job was probably 2 weeks photographing dogs for a German Advertising agency. I like dogs and the ideas were good but challenging, we managed to do everything asked and the Art Director was great to work with. I think I also felt I had achieved something, from a not very promising education to shooting a major job for a European Agency- made my Mum and Dad happy.

What is the hardest part of your job?

Hardest part is getting work, gets harder as you get older.

What is the easiest part?

Easiest is doing it.

Where do you see/ hope your career goes next?

I hope my career continues and I am able to do good work.

What is the best advise you were ever given?

 Probably to have confidence in myself.

What advice would you give to a photographer just starting out, like me?

Same as above 

What is your favorite/must have photography accessory other than your camera?

I don’t have one

What piece of equipment would you most like to get but don’t have yet?

A new 50mm Hasselblad lens.

Leave a Reply

